top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Wall

Week One: Done and Done!

Cultural immersion: one of the most exciting and frightening word combinations I've come across in a while. Well, there's also "tax time", but that's another. story... :)


During my first week in Germany, I had a relatively gentle introduction to the responsibilities and challenges that come with living and serving in a cross-cultural context. Liz gave me the grand tour of Das Kanada Haus, helping me to become familiar with the layout of the kitchen and all essential cleaning procedures throughout the guesthouse. Considering that we are expecting the arrival of about 50 OMEGA students at the end of the month, I'm so grateful for this time and space in which to learn and get comfortable with the running of the house.


I've been working on lots of little tasks, most of which have been in preparation for the arrival of the OMEGA team. I was privileged to be able to return to the beautiful city of Fulda, where I tried out a walking tour similar to the impromptu one I went on three years ago. As I will be meeting the OMEGA team at the Fulda train station (or bahnhof) and showing them some of these beautiful sights later this month, I've spent the last couple days prepping maps and pinpointing key sites (like bathrooms!) for each team to reference. I've also been familiarizing myself with some of the do's and don'ts of German culture and driving, along with some tips and tricks that the crews might find helpful. Hey, I'm still learning right along with them!! (At least the van I get to drive has an automatic transmission...)


There's no better way to test your language and cultural knowledge (or lack thereof!) than by driving down to the grocery store and trying to follow a shopping list! Even in elementary and high school when I was studying French, I've always been better at reading and recognizing words, as opposed to listening to conversations and responding in turn. At the local Aldi mart, Liz gave me the task of finding and jotting down about 20 German food names, and their English translations. This wasn't too much of a problem; after all, the words were displayed clearly on the store signage and various food labels. Once we got home, however, Liz and I had an impromptu German pronunciation lesson. THAT is when things got tricky! It's almost as if the fully formed words slowly fell apart in the short journey between my brain and my mouth. Who knew that the seemingly simple exercise of ordering a sandwich could be so intimidating?!


What's more, having taught several French core and immersion classes over the last 1 1/2 years, my brain is automatically wired to translate words, phrases, and even thoughts into my main second language. Now that I'm trying to familiarize myself with basic German, I am running into the added obstacle of un-translating and re-translating my own thoughts!! But all things considered, I have learned a valuable lesson in my brief supply teaching career: learning a new language takes a lot of guts, and involves making a whole lot of mistakes. I know that my commitment to using this beautiful new language will pay dividends in the end, but it will also require flexibility and a good sense of humour :).


Yet in the sea of language and cultural diversity, I am comforted to know that God hears and understands all of our prayers. He abides in our praises, and He speaks to us in unique and intimate ways. This past week I attended a worship night at Kraft-Werk-Kirche, in the small Lower Saxony city of Hann. Muenden. Even though there was a definite language barrier - thank you, Liz, for being a fabulous interpreter! - I could sense the presence of the Holy Spirit in such a powerful way. Words of revelation and restoration were spoken over those in attendance; bodies and minds received a divine healing touch; Jesus was glorified! There truly was unity in our diversity, and it was a beautiful sight to behold.


I have so much more to tell you about my second week in Deutschland, but you'll have to wait until my next instalment. Until then, thank you again to all those who have chosen to support this mission, both through prayer and financial support. I continue to be humbled by your generosity. Please enjoy some snapshots from my travels in Fulda and Hann. Muenden, and I'll see you next time!!


Yours in the Great Commission,


Emily


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page