top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Wall

Navigating the Next Steps (and Finances!)

There's one thing that I can confidently say about walking by faith: expect the unexpected! This past week, the world has held its collective breath as Russian president Vladimir Putin ordered the invasion of Ukraine. I have seen a global community, still reeling from a pandemic that has shaken every facet of society, rally around this resilient nation as they fight for liberation from this senseless onslaught. It just goes to show that there's still goodness and strength to be found amid the shadow of death.


In view of these developments, I've had quite a few questions about the status of my trip to Germany. In the spirit of transparency, I'd like to address these questions with the information I have at the moment:


I am in regular communication with several parties involved in this mission. These include the directors of Das Kanada Haus, Markus and Liz Brandt; my missions coach and financial consultant from the PAOC International Missions Department; and the directors of the OMEGA program at Summit Pacific College (Abbotsford, BC). One large component of my work in Germany will be the oversight of a small group of Canadian students as they minister throughout the country and (possibly) into closely bordering countries (e.g. Czech Republic). At this point all parties still plan to make the trip happen. However, we are working together to create contingency plans in the event that it is deemed unsafe to travel internationally within Europe, or if travel to Europe is put on hold altogether.


To my donors: first I'd like to say a HUGE THANK YOU for your support for the work of God in Germany and broader Eurasia, and for putting your confidence in me as a steward of His mission. Your partnership means more to me than I can ever hope to express in mere words.


Secondly, please be reassured that the funds allocated to this mission will be used for their intended purpose. In the case that the April-June timeframe cannot go ahead due to the unrest in Ukraine and the European Union, the trip will be rescheduled, and your donations will be held in a secure account monitored by the PAOC International Missions department until the trip can go ahead as planned.


Finally, for those who are considering giving a financial donation, I'd like to give you a brief breakdown of my fixed expenses as they currently stand. Between airfare and room and board at Das Kanada Haus, my basic expenses total $3,500. As a global volunteer, I am prepared to self-support for personal living expenses. In order to cover the various up-front costs of the trip (particularly airfare), however, I am calling on YOU - my dear friend and partner in the Great Commission - to consider helping me to reach the goal of raising $3,500 during the month of March. From a practical perspective, having the security of finances in the missions account is especially critical in such a time of political unrest. But on top of that, you can have confidence in knowing that you are playing a valuable role in seeing lives touched and restored by the power of God, in a time where people throughout Eurasia are crying out for hope and answers that only He can provide.


To learn more about the mission, review some key prayer points, or make a secure donation, please visit https://paoc.org/donate/emilywall.

Yours in the Great Commission,


Emily

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page